iPad addict at age two?

Am I a bad mother if my two year old is already addicted to the iPad? OK, maybe ‘addicted’ is too strong a word, but the iPad is definitely her favourite ‘toy’. Should I feel guilty about letting her play Angry Birds at this age? I’m not even sure how she learned to play it in the first place. Kids are just somehow able to pick up any piece of technology and make it work. At the risk of sounding old…. in my day, technology was the tv game ‘Pong‘ which I had to ask my father to set up each time I used it! Now here I am, 30…. something years later watching my own daughter work the iPad like she has been using it all her life. Actually, come to think of it, I guess she almost has used it all her life. Is that how kids have become so good at this stuff? We don’t really think of technology as ‘technology’ anymore. It is just a way of life and we have to let kids play with these things early on so they never get the chance to become scared of technology like we may have been.

The more technology in my house the better, I say. And if I have to use the excuse, “it’s to help my kids learn”, to justify always buying the latest toys gadgets, then so be it.   😉

2 thoughts on “iPad addict at age two?

Leave a Reply

