Too much screen time

An interesting article in the New York Times mentions that kids are now spending much more time now than ever in front of a screen. This is not just television they are talking about – iPads and iPhones are becoming increasingly popular with little kids. Toddlers. Babies even. Yes, I am guilty of this – telling myself that it is ok for the kids to play with my iPad because they are all (mostly) educational games and stories that they play with.

This article has made me second guess myself. Am I really just encouraging my kids to sit and stare at a screen all day instead of going outside? It’s not like they are using the iPad in the middle of the day when it is sunny out – just at night when mummy and daddy are trying to get chores finished.

I guess it could look like it is being used as a babysitter but I tend to disagree. I don’t think exposing children to technology at such a young age is a bad thing at all as long as you ensure they are ‘well rounded’. No, I don’t mean feed them pizza until they burst. I mean all things in small doses are not going to hurt them. As long as they spend plenty of time playing outside and learning to use their own imaginations to entertain themselves then surely a bit of technology isn’t going to hurt.

What do you think? Do your children get “too much screen time”?

One thought on “Too much screen time

Leave a Reply

